276°
Posted 20 hours ago

King of the Cloud Forests

£3.995£7.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

Thomas Peaceful is a young soldier looking back at his childhood from the battlefields of the First world War. He was awarded an OBE in 2007 and a Knighthood in the New Year’s Honours in 2018 for services to literature and charity.

In the tradition of Goodnight Mr Tom, Carrie's War, and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, King of the Cloud Forests is a novel that takes children to the heart of a tumultuous period in history. He has won numerous awards including those voted for by children themselves, the Blue Peter Book Award and the Children’s Book Award. However, far from being a threat, the yetis seem to know Ashley and start to worship him as their king.He has written over 150 books, including The Butterfly Lion, Kensuke’s Kingdom, Why the Whales Came, The Mozart Question, Shadow, and War Horse, which was adapted for a hugely successful stage production by the National Theatre and then, in 2011, for a film directed by Steven Spielberg. He started the charity Farms for City Children in 1976 with his wife, Clare, aimed at relieving the poverty of experience many young children feel in inner city and urban areas. Here he can forget about the bullies at school, but when his secret place is discovered and the fox family decimated, Bill and the last fox cub run for their lives. Published by Viking Kestrel, /1987, 1st US, nl; aqua cloth boards, tan endpapers, in aqua jacket with Ashley in a mountain landscape; 8vo; 146 pp.

Until one day, Lily and her family, along with the other villagers, are told to move out of their homes. Change country: -Select- Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Virgin Islands Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cape Verde Islands Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Colombia Comoros Cook Islands Costa Rica Cyprus Czech Republic Côte d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast) Democratic Republic of the Congo Denmark Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas) Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Republic Gambia Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iraq Ireland Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jersey Jordan Kenya Kiribati Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Macedonia Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Namibia Nepal Netherlands Netherlands Antilles New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Niue Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Republic of Croatia Republic of the Congo Reunion Romania Saint Helena Saint Kitts-Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines San Marino Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands South Africa South Korea Spain Sri Lanka Suriname Svalbard and Jan Mayen Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Togo Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Vatican City State Venezuela Virgin Islands (U. Ashley is uncomfortable with this false position and leaves their warm companionship to continue his hard journey, all alone, across into India.When the Japanese invade his adopted country he must flee with his Uncle Sung across the Himalayas into India. A lyrical and moving tale of a young boy growing up in Africa, and his lifelong friendship with a white lion. He also meets Jemima the pig: she smells and she slobbers, she breaks out of her pen to steal potatoes, and she’s the undisputed queen of the farm. While written for children, anyone with an interest in history and strange possibilities will enjoy this. Look out for Morpurgo’s other war fiction including War Horse, Friend or Foe, Waiting for Anya and An Eagle in the Snow.

By using the Web site, you confirm that you have read, understood, and agreed to be bound by the Terms and Conditions. Registered office: WSM Services Limited, Connect House, 133-137 Alexandra Road, Wimbledon, LONDON SW19 7JY. Michael Morpurgo, began writing stories in the early '70's, in response to the children in his class at the primary school where he taught in Kent. Finance is provided by PayPal Credit (a trading name of PayPal UK Ltd, Whittaker House, Whittaker Avenue, Richmond-Upon-Thames, Surrey, United Kingdom, TW9 1EH). Ill-equipped for such a journey, they won't give up without a fight, and this is the tale of their thrilling adventures on their journey from Cork to California.King of the Cloud Forests" es una novela juvenil de Michael Morpurgo de 1987, y con dolor, porque me encanta este autor, he de reconocer que no me ha gustado. King of the Cloud Forests is a gripping and heartfelt war story from Britain s best-loved children s author, Michael Morpurgo. He has won the Whitbread Award, the Smarties Award, the Circle of Gold Award, the Children's Book Award and has been short-listed for the Carnegie Medal four times. It’s a gem of a book and one that like Escape from Shangri-La will appeal equally to someone of 10 or 110.

Then trapped alone in a howling blizzard he is taken by a tribe of high mountain creatures, perhaps yetis, but not quite human and comes to be treated as the re-embodiment of their almost supernatural, white-skinned god-cum-ruler of years earlier. the two share a bond and an experience and such comradeship that is more precious to them than anything else.

Back in the days of the Boys' Own Paper those yetis would have been portrayed as either savage or playfully childish King Kongs. He travels all over the UK and abroad talking to people of all ages at literary festivals, telling his stories and encouraging them to tell theirs. he lives with the yeti for an year and learns about their life and their ways - his experience with the Yeti touches his life as nothing else. As he grows from fiery kitten to grand old tomcat he is always special, independent and a law unto himself.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment