276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Broken Hearts & Zombie Parts

£4.495£8.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

I think Jesse is quite a relateable teenage character, and his passion and talent for movie making was inspiring and believable and not overdone. The plot points of the romance were predictable but very satisfying when they inevitably hit nonetheless.

I found cas + jessie’s interaction so incredibly sweet and I really did quite like Jessie’s character as a whole . But Hussey skillfully weaves in a more serious undercurrent, while still keeping the overall tone light, and doesn't overlook the challenges faced by young LGBTQ+ people today. Jesse Spark has a broken heart and in a few short weeks he'll require major surgery to repair it - which means he only has a month to accomplish two almost-impossible tasks. To calculate the overall star rating and percentage breakdown by star, we don’t use a simple average.Maybe it is because it was roughly 400 pages which I find quite enthusiastic for a YA romance novel. The whole book is written in first person perspective and gives a wonderful insight into the life of the boy we accompany. There is some homophobia in the story, but I thought that it was handled well, as well as some hints at internalised homophobia. It was really predictable (especially with the cover too) but I personally I don't think thats an issue. Jesse Spark has a broken heart and in a few short weeks he’ll require major surgery to repair it – which means he only has a month to accomplish two almost-impossible tasks.

I would recommend this for fans of Simon James Green, because it's so funny, and especially the main character is hilarious. Some of the plot "twists" were quite evident from context, but that didn't completely remove their impact.A funny, fresh and authentic LGBTQ+ romance for fans of Heartstopper and Sex Education (with fake zombies!

The way that this book addresses the fears of both survival and self-esteem afterwards are so amazing that I was left wondering who read my diary. He was lied to by nearly everyone and then treated like shit for questioning being lied to as if it was his own fault. From thrillers for Young Adults to gripping whodunnits for grown-ups, he has written in almost every genre of fiction. His queer YA Hideous Beauty is a gem about love and loss, and The Outrage, a dystopian YA story, is chest-tightening and incredibly scary.

I'm not the target demographic for YA at all, but sometimes it just really hits the mark and gives me everything I'm looking for from a book. Ich weiß nicht, was ich noch sagen soll, außer, dass meine Erwartungen bei weitem übertroffen wurden.

Broken Hearts and Zombie Parts is a very personal story, and if you follow William on social media, you probably know why. But I promise you once you start reading and see thru Jesse's eyes, the eyes of a frightened boy not only of what needs to be done to him, but how society will judge him afterwards you will understand. The 103 third parties who use cookies on this service do so for their purposes of displaying and measuring personalized ads, generating audience insights, and developing and improving products.Oh, and William, I swallowed a few times when I suddenly read there was an Ellis Bell Memorial Drama Studio, and laughed out loud when I saw the titles for the tracks for the movie. Not only does this book cover some important issues such as body image, bullying, internalised homophobia, bereavement of a parent, and heart problems/surgery (to name a few), but it handles them in a sensitive and relatable way. I've read plenty of books with bumbling, awkward MC's that start babbling in serious situations but this one hit all the wrong notes for me. I found the “jokes” to be forced and completely uneeded , Like the whole sex dungeon thing at the beginning ….

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment